SME Steering Committee

The Smart Metering Entity (SME) Steering Committee acts as an advisory panel to the IESO in its role as the SME for Ontario. It is a stakeholder committee that represents the interests of MDM/R service recipients. The SME Committee is made up of representatives from local distribution companies and the IESO in its role as SME.

The SME Steering Committee has the opportunity to:

  • Provide input in the ongoing development of the Terms of Service and the MDM/R manuals and procedures
  • Provide input on the SME’s provision of MDM/R services and adherence to the committed service levels as prescribed in the Terms of Service
  • Consider amendment proposals forwarded by the SME, MDM/R service recipients, or initiated by the SME Steering Committee
  • Participate in the consultations, when requested by the SME on amendments to the MDM/R manuals and procedures

SME Steering Committee meetings are held five to eight times per year. Regular meetings include a one-hour MDM/R operations teleconference that is open to all LDCs in the province. For more information about attending the open session, please contact

2017 Meeting Dates

  • January 27, 2017
  • March 28, 2017
  • June 20, 2017
  • September 14, 2017
  • November 21, 2017


SME Steering Committee currently consists of nine members, eight of which were nominated by the Electricity Distributors’ Association; one member represents the SME. Five LDC members are the minimum required for a quorum and an SME/IESO representative must attend. Current members are:

  • Tracy Manso, Entegrus Powerlines Inc.
  • Danny Relich, Hydro One Networks Inc.
  • Michel Provost, Hydro Ottawa Limited
  • David Rankin, Alectra Utilities
  • Andy Armitage, Thunder Bay Hydro
  • Kevin Myers, Veridian Connections Inc.
  • Marianne Blasman, Waterloo North Hydro
  • James Murphy, IESO in its role as SME